EU6 condemn provocative actions by DPRK

Joint statement by Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Poland and the UK
4 December 2019

Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Poland and the United Kingdom are deeply concerned by the continued testing of ballistic missiles by the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, including the missile launches of 28 November. The DPRK has conducted 13 sets of ballistic missile launches since May and continued to operate its nuclear programme.

We condemn these provocative actions. They undermine regional security and stability, as well as international peace and security, and are in clear violation of unanimously adopted UN Security Council resolutions.

We also condemn the recent threats made by DPRK to partners in the region and beyond. We continue to urge the DPRK to engage in good faith in meaningful negotiations with the United States aimed at denuclearization, and to take concrete steps to abandoning all weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programs in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner.

There is no other way to achieve security and stability on the Korean Peninsula. Continued provocations risk undermining the prospect for successful negotiations.

It is vital that the Security Council ensures full implementation of its resolutions and that sanctions remain in place. We call on the international community to comply with the obligation to strictly enforce these sanctions.

Dernière modification : 24/02/2020

Top of the page