Elections to the Security Council [fr]

On 17 June, the General Assembly will elect five non-permanent members to the Security Council for a two-year term beginning on 1 January 2021.

Congratulations to India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway on their election to the Security Council for the term 2021-2022 !

Composition of the Security Council

The Security Council is composed of fifteen members :

  • five permanent members: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States
  • ten members elected for two years by the General Assembly, in accordance with geographical distribution. Each regional group has an assigned number of seats :
    • 3 for the African Group ;
    • 2 for the Asia-Pacific Group ;
    • 2 for the Latin American and Caribbean Group ;
    • 1 for the Eastern European Group ;
    • 2 for the Western European and Others Group.

2020 Elections

Half of the seats of elected members are renewed each year. The five seats to be filled for the 2020 elections according to the regular distribution among the regions are as follows:

  • one seat for the African Group (currently held by South Africa) ;
  • one seat for the Asia-Pacific Group (currently held by Indonesia) ;
  • one seat for the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC, currently held by the Dominican Republic) ; and
  • two seats for the Western European and Others Group (WEOG, currently held by Belgium and Germany).
Seven countries are candidates for the five available seats: Canada, Djibouti, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway.

Djibouti and Kenya are competing for the single seat of the African group. Canada, Ireland and Norway are competing for the two seats in the WEOG group. The other two candidates, India and Mexico, will run unopposed for the Asia-Pacific and GRULAC seats, respectively. All seven candidates have already served on the Council.

Voting during Covid19

The election for a seat as a member of the Security Council is held in the General Assembly Hall and is conducted by secret ballot. A country must obtain the votes of two thirds of the Member States present and voting at the session of the General Assembly in order to obtain a seat. This means that a minimum of 129 positive votes is required to be elected if all 193 UN Member States are present and voting. Sometimes several rounds of balloting are necessary to decide between the candidates and for a State to be elected.

The voting procedure this year had to be adapted to take into account limitations of gatherings related to the COVID-19 pandemic. To this end, the President of the General Assembly transmitted on 2 June to UN member states the procedure for holding secret ballot elections during the COVID19 pandemic.

It thus provides for Member States to vote in turn at a specific time slot. The same method will be used for additional ballots, if required.

To keep track of the election results, follow us on twitter @franceonu and #UNSCelections.

Dernière modification : 06/07/2020

Top of the page