New Development Agenda

The 2000 Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) established a framework for building a more prosperous, peaceful and just world for the 21st century.

Nouvel agenda du développement - JPEG

Substantial progress has been made, thanks to the MDGs, but their aims have been only partially achieved. The new goals of the new development agenda will change considerably in the fall of 2015. They will take into account the strengths and weaknesses of the MDGs, and will evolve in two directions:

  • They will now be universal (applying to both developed and developing countries)
  • They will take environmental aspects into account.

There will now be 17 goals. They are detailed in the Secretary-General’s synthesis report on the post-2015 development agenda. The member states agreed on this agenda on 2 August 2015: the agreement will be implemented in September and will then be the main reference until 2030.

Example: Guaranteeing universal access to reliable, sustainable and modern energy services (goal number 7):
- Integrate the principles of sustainable development into country policies and programs and reverse the loss of environmental resources.
- Reduce the loss of biodiversity and significantly reduce loss rates by 2010.
- Reduce by half the proportion of people without sustainable access to safe drinking water or basic sanitation services, by 2015.
- Achieve significant improvement in the lives of at least 100 million slum dwellers, by 2020.

These goals will serve as a guide for the international community (the UN, institutions, NGOs, foundations, etc.) and provide general guidelines for governments.

Example: Maria is now 3 years old. When she is 18, these Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) should enable her:
- to have access to safe drinking water (goal number 2)
- to have access to education (goal number 4)
- to have equal access to jobs (goal 5)
- not to suffer the consequences of climate change (goal 13).

Dernière modification : 03/08/2015

Top of the page